There are many misconceptions about Florida child support laws or when and how to pay child support in Florida. These are 4 common myths:
- PAYING CHILD SUPPORT IS NOT COMMON. Not quite. In the United States alone, over 39 million people pay child support annually. In addition, our Federal Government also collects child support for parents who are not receiving the court-ordered child support payments. Annually, over $250 Billion dollars in child support are exchanged in the United States.
- PARENTS WITH JOINT CUSTODY ARE NOT REQUIRED TO PAY TO PAY CHILD SUPPORT. Generally, some form of child support will be awarded since the goal is to make sure that parents equally share the responsibility of the financial burdens for their child(ren).
- FLORIDA CHILD SUPPORT STOPS WHEN CHILDREN TURN 18. Laws have changed. It is now possible for children over 18 years of age that are still in high school to continue receiving child support. Also, children who are disabled and unable to ever support themselves may also continue to receive child support after age 18.
- BACK CHILD SUPPORT CAN NOT BE COLLECTED AFTER A CHILD TURNS 18. No statute of limitations exists that limits a parent’s ability to collect unpaid child support after their child turns 18. That means a parent can take action to collect unpaid child support even after a child is grown and independent.
Whether you are a man or woman, the paying parent or the one to receive child support for the children, you need to protect your rights! Especially, since no one ever wants to be taken advantage of. To learn more, schedule a consultation with our Florida Child Support Attorneys today!
To know more about Child Support watch our video